Perry County Chapter OGS
PO Box 275
Junction City, OH 43748-0275
HomeCounty HistoryLibraryNew ProjectsPublicationsRequestsResources

Perry County, Ohio History

Perry County is situated in the southeastern part of the State of Ohio, is bounded on the north by Licking and Muskingum, on the east by Muskingum and Morgan, on the south by Athens and Hocking, and on the west by Hocking and Fairfield.  The county was formed 1818 from Fairfield, Muskingum and Washington Counties.  The county seat is New Lexington.

The county is made up of fourteen townships:  Bearfield, Clayton, Coal, Harrison, Hopewell, Jackson, Madison, Monday Creek, Monroe, Pike, Pleasant, Reading, Salt Lick and Thorn.